Hoy adds another award to his collection

On December 2, 2008 by

The golden year for Great Britain’s cycling team continues as triple Olympic gold medallist Chris Hoy has been named 2008 Sportsman of the Year by the Sports Journalists’ Association (SJA) at their annual Sports Awards held in London.

The award, now in its 60th year, recognised a strong year of sporting achievement by British sportsmen with Hoy holding off stiff competition from Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton, tennis ace Andy Murray and sailing star Ben Ainslie.

The ‘Flying Scotsman’ joins a prestigious list of previous winners of the award including such notable Olympians as Sebastian Coe, Daley Thompson, Linford Christie, Steve Redgrave and Matthew Pinsent.

During the Beijing Olympics, Hoy powered his way around the velodrome to gold medals in the individual sprint, the team sprint and the Keirin, becoming the first Briton in a century to win three Olympic titles in a single games.

Team GB’s cyclists dominated their events as they returned home with an amazing 8 gold medals between them and 14 medals in total. Hoy proudly flew the British flag in the closing ceremony: quite an accolade in itself.

Hoy was not the only cyclist to be acknowledged by the SJA with fellow Olympic gold medallists Jason Kenny, Nicole Cooke and Rebecca Romero also winning awards. Paralympic cycling hero, Darren Kenny, took home The Bill McGowran Trophy for the Disabled Sports Personality of the Year.

The award for SJA Sportswoman of the Year 2008 went to the swimmer Rebecca Adlington who won two gold medals in the pool in Beijing. Hoy and Adlington will go head to head in the public vote for the 2008 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award which is to be held in Liverpool on 14th December.

However, both SJA Sports Awards winners may be pipped at the post by Lewis Hamilton who has emerged as the bookmakers’ favourite to triumph at the televised ceremony. Whatever the outcome, no one can deny that Chris Hoy has had a year to remember.